What Exactly Is Gluten? 5 Common Foods That Contain Gluten
Image Credit: Unsplash

Gluten is a protein is present in all three grains: wheat, barley, and rye. The name "gluten" in the medical and scientific fields actually refers to a group of proteins called glutelin and prolamin that work together to store nutrients in plants. Depending on which grain is being discussed, it goes by many names. You can see why it's frequently simpler to use "gluten," because the glutelin in wheat is known as glutenin and the prolamin as gliadin; the glutelin in barley is known as hordenine; and the glutelin in the rye is known as secalin.

Gluten is a special and useful protein in baking since it functions as glue to hold the dough together and give it an elastic texture. Gluten is what gives the bread a chewy, soft texture after it has been baked. Despite not containing gluten, oats contain avenin, a protein that is comparable to gluten. Oats also induce reactions in some people with celiac disease since the proteins are so close.

What Is Gluten Sensitivity?

Most people can eat gluten without any issues. On the other hand, people who have celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity (also known as "gluten sensitivity" or "gluten intolerance") experience a number of symptoms after ingesting gluten. Gluten consumption causes celiac disease, also known as celiac sprue, non-tropical sprue, and gluten-sensitive enteropathy, a devastating inherited autoimmune condition. When a person with celiac disease consumes gluten, the protein damages a section of the small intestine called the villi, which prevents nutrients in food from being absorbed. Malnutrition and a variety of additional issues, including several malignancies, thyroid illness, osteoporosis, infertility, and the onset of various autoimmune disorders, are caused by damaged villi. That makes it practically impossible for the body to absorb nutrients for circulation.

Common Sources Of Gluten

 Beer: Gluten-containing malted barley is used to make beer. Make sure to check the ingredients, because some liqueurs have wheat added.

 Cereal: Because many morning cereals do include wheat, you should carefully read the nutrition labels. Oats are frequently produced and processed with wheat, so take care. Therefore, unless they are clearly labelled as such, oat products will also contain gluten.

 Breads, crackers, and wraps: Gluten can be found in most bread, crackers, and wraps. Only by reading the ingredient list and confirming which grains are used can one be certain.

 Gravies: Gluten is present in gravies and ready meals that include gravy. Aside from being particularly marked "gluten-free," powdered gravy mixes also contain gluten.

 Baked goods: Most baked items are produced with wheat flour or other grains that contain gluten. As a result, those who are sensitive to gluten should generally avoid these items.