Shadrasa: The Six Flavours Of Ayurveda
Image Credit: Image credit: Pexels| Different Flavors

It is necessary to properly taste and enjoy the food we eat, according to the Ayurvedic tradition. Our meals should ideally contain six rasas (tastes). Unfortunately, obtaining a full variety of the six tastes on a daily basis can be challenging, especially when travelling, dining out, or cooking without knowledge of Ayurvedic principles. Learning about Rasa is an excellent start when it comes to understanding how important taste is in Ayurveda. Rasa means "taste" in Sanskrit. Rasa, like many Sanskrit terms, has multiple meanings: juice, eagerness, experience, and lifeblood, to name a few. 

Rasa is our lifeblood, both metaphorically and practically (dhatu). Rasa has an impact on all areas of our being: mind, body, and spirit. Each flavor has an impact on all three of our Doshas (Vata, Pitta and Kapha). Taste (Rasa) in Ayurveda is not just something to appreciate when we eat, but also something to use as a healing tool. Rasa adds flavor to our life! If you know Ayurvedic principles, you already know how important taste is in determining different meals, spices, and life experiences affect us. 

Image credit: Pexels


The 6 Taste of Ayurveda 

The Sweet Flavor 

The sweetness of the food reduces Vata (air, space) and Pitta (fire, water) while increasing Kapha (water, earth). It is the most nourishing, relaxing, and stabilizing of the Rasas, made up of water and earth elements. Its characteristics are heavy, fatty, and moist, so if you're attempting to acquire weight, this is the flavor to focus on. Sweet foods include wheat, dairy, rice, some cereals, dates, pumpkins, root vegetables, and maple syrup. When ingested in moderation, the sweet taste promotes a long life, physical and mental power, and healthy physiological fluids and tissues. 

The Sour Flavor 

The sour flavor reduces Vata while increasing Pitta and Kapha. It is composed of the elements of water and fire and might help to increase a slow appetite. It has a mild, warm, and fatty flavour that might help with digestion and detoxifying. However, it should be consumed in moderation because eating too much sour can swiftly induce physical and mental imbalances. Sour foods include pickled and fermented foods, wine, lemon, and vinegar. 

The Salt Flavor 

The salty flavor balances Vata while boosting Pitta and Kapha. It is composed of the elements earth and fire. Because of its hydration and grounding properties, those with a Vata dominating constitution or excess Vata Dosha should emphasis the salty taste. However, as it has a fire element, it might promote Pitta, so use it in moderation, especially during the summer. Salt enhances the flavour of food, aids digestion, cleanses the body's tissues, and boosts the body's ability to absorb minerals. Salty foods include sea salt, black olives, etc. 

The Astringent Flavor 

The astringent flavor elevates Vata while lowering Pitta and Kapha. It's composed of the elements of air and earth. Astringent foods include beans and lentils. Because astringency can create gas if ingested in significant amounts, persons with a Vata-dominant constitution should consume it in moderation, whereas Pitta and Kapha types should normally prioritize astringency. Other astringent foods include green grapes, okra, etc. 

The Bitter Flavor 

The bitter flavour boosts Vata while lowering Pitta and Kapha. It consists of the elements of air and space. It's the lightest and coolest of all the Rasas. It cleanses the body and encourages positive mental attitudes. Turmeric, green and black teas, and raw, green vegetables are all bitter meals. 

The Pungent Flavor 

The pungent flavour elevates Vata and Pitta while lowering Kapha. It is mostly formed of the components of fire and air. It's also the hottest of the Rasas. It improves digestion and appetite, clears sinuses, detoxifies tissues, and stimulates blood flow. Pitta is readily aggravated by too much of the pungent Rasa. Pungent goes well with sour, sweet, and salty foods. 

The order in which the six rasas are consumed is also important in Ayurveda. Begin with mild-tasting meals that have a sweet undertone. In that order, sour, salt, pungent, bitter, and astringent. Finish on a sweet note, such as dessert. After a meal, this harmony ensures that one does not feel bloated, fatigued, or sick.